Game Dev Heroes Shortlist 2018

Game Dev Heroes 2018 : The Shortlists

Thank you to everyone who submitted nominations for Game Dev Heroes 2018! There's been an amazing response and some truly impressive nominations. We've compiled the category shortlists below, but really want to emphasise how impressed we've been with the quality and quantity of your submissions!

Every one of the people below has impressed and inspired, and is already seen as an unsung hero or role model to others, and we hope you'll join us in congratulating their achievement.

There are so many amazing & appreciated people working in games development & we thank everyone involved for their contributions so far as we hand over to our judging panel for the final step, ahead of the winners reveal on 10th July.


Art & Animation

Glenn Brace
Art Director, nDreams

JaeSeung Choi
Senior VFX Supervisor, Splash Damage

Emma Hollingsworth
Lead Animator, Coatsink

Anna Hollinrake
Senior Artist, Dream Reality Interactive

Emilie Stabell
Artist, Media Molecule

Aidan Ward
Senior Artist, Red Kite Games

Greg Wisniewski
Lead Artist, Sumo Digital


Grant Allen
Game Designer, Dlala Studios

James Chew
Writer & Narrative Designer, Failbetter Games

Martin Deacon
Lead Designer, Sumo Digital

Dave Gabriel
Designer, Futurlab

Ben Huskins
Lead Designer, Two Point Studios

Meg Jayanth
Writer, Freelance

Graham Wright
Level Designer, Ubisoft Reflections


John Campbell
Techincal Director, Triangular Pixels

Dan Foster
Programmer, Team 17

Nicoll Hunt
Head Honcho, I Fight Bears

Adam Pearce
Software Engineer, Criterion Games

Antti Tuppurainen
Senior Game Developer, Rovio

Ben Ward
Programmer / Designer, Supergonk


Stephen Hollis
Technical Sound Designer, Frontier Developments

Sam Hughes
Founder, The Sound Architect / Intern, Remedy Entertainment

Simon James
Audio Director, Coatsink

Jade Leamcharaskul
Game music composer

Andy Poland
Audio Designer, Jackbox Games

Gonçalo Tavares
Sound Designer, Codemasters

Bogdan Vera
Audio Programmer, Media Molecule


Sally Blake
Senior Producer, Hammerhead

Jessica Gaskell
Producer, Sumo Digital

Lucía Granda
Senior Producer, NaturalMotion Games

Constantin Jupp
Release Producer, Media Molecule

Sebastian Long
UX Research, Player Research

Joseph Rogers
Producer, Freelance


James Cubitt
QA Manager, Universally Speaking

Dylan Harfoot
QA Lead, Boss Alien

Lewis Marriott
Senior Lead QA, Ubisoft Reflections

Jamie Oates
QA Team Lead, Outplay Entertainment

Lesleyann White
QA Analyst & Support, Failbetter Games

Lee Wood
QA Tester, TT Games

Marketing & Community

Rita Auta
Senior Marketing Manager, Amazon Appstore

Jamie Finch
Community Manager, Payload Studios

Jakub Klitenik (Koobs)
Marketing Executive, Curve Digital

Chris Mullins (shoe.)
Community Manager, Splash Damage

Hollie Pattison
PR & Marketing Manager, Ripstone Games

Haley Uyrus
Marketing Manager, Failbetter Games

Jo Worrall
European Associate Brand Manager, Bethesda Softworks


Eddie Beardsmore & Paul Crabb
COO & CCO, Coatsink

Dan Da Rocha
Managing Director, Toxic Games

Thad Frogley
Technical Director, Boss Alien

Heini Kaihu
Head of Studio / VP of Games, Rovio Puzzle Studio

Tara Saunders
Head of Studio Operations, Sony London Studio

Graham Schmidt
Account Director, Heaven Media

Cj Stockton
Development & Resource Manager, Ubisoft Reflections / Ubisoft Leamington

Diversity Champion

Helen Andrzejowska
Director, Ocean Spark Studios

Adam Campbell
Game Acqusition & Product Manager, Azoomee

Des Gayle
Freelance Games Producer

Ann Hurley
Head of Business Development for Games, Testronic

Tamsin O’Luanaigh
Co-Founder & Talent Director, nDreams

Morgan Paul
Programmer, Boss Alien

Michelle Tilley
Senior Release Manager, Sony Interactive Entertainment

Unsung Hero

Marcia Deakin
Games Partnership Director, NextGen Skills Academy

Bill Donegan
Project Manager, SpecialEffect

David Hayward
Event Organiser, YMPT

Steven Huckle
CEO & Founder, Shark Infested Custard & The Games Hub

Gemma King
Office Manager, Boss Alien

Emma Mark
Associate Facilities Manager, Splash Damage

Albert Marshall
Consultant & Founder at Marshall Media 

Sean Oxspring
Technical Designer, Deep Silver Dambuster Studios

Kirsty Rigden
Development Director, Futurlab

Nick Rooke
Director of Developer Relations & Strategic Content, Sony Interactive Entertainment

Callum Underwood
Head of Europe, Caffeine / Publishing Scout, Raw Fury

Congratulations again to all those who have been shortlisted, and thank you to everyone for your nominations.

Winners for Game Dev Heroes 2018 will be announced on 10th July 2018