The Winners of Game Dev Heroes 2020

Game Dev Heroes 2020

There was a point where we considered not having a Game Dev Heroes this year. I’m very glad we were able to go ahead. For many people, ourselves included, it’s really helped to celebrate the positivity and work that’s kind of just holding everything together. It has been an honour and a pleasure to read through all of this year’s nominations, seeing the warmth, love and appreciation you have for the work of your peers and colleagues across the games industry.

Thank you to everyone who has helped make it happen this year, from the huge support we’ve received from our event partners at Creative Assembly, No Brakes Games, EPOS, Etch Play, Aardvark Swift, Games Jobs Direct, the tireless work from our team of judges, and of course the several hundred of you that sent in nominations for your game dev heroes.

We received almost 700 nominations this year and creating the final shortlists was no easy task, let alone choosing the winners. There are a huge amount of talented and valued people working across the games industry, far more than appear in just our list, so it’s a privilege that we can bring more attention to many of those people behind the games we all love.

With so many nominations this year, the shortlists this year were packed with amazing people, genuinely causing a lot of tough decisions for our judges. For many of the categories it was close right up to the final votes.

And so… the winners of Game Dev Heroes 2020 are:

Art + Animation Hero 2020

Loukia Kyriakidou

Artist & Character Designer

Game Design Hero 2020

Fawzi Mesmar

Head of Design, EA DICE

Sound Hero 2020

Jade Leamcharaskul

Composer & Sound Designer

Programming Hero 2020

Laure De Mey

Programmer at ustwo Games

QA Hero 2020

Holly Gordon

Associate Producer, Rocksteady Studios

Production Hero 2020

Sally Morgan-Moore

Producer, No Brakes Games

Writing + Narrative Design Hero 2020

Olivia Wood

Writer, Narrative Designer & Editor, Failbetter Games

Marketing + Community Hero 2020

Oliver Hindle

Community Director, Mediatonic

Unsung Hero 2020

Ian Hamilton

Accessibility Consultant

Leadership Hero 2020

Richard Semmens

Technical Director, Rare Ltd

Progression Advocate 2020

Marina Díez

CEO, 3ofCups Games

Outstanding Contribution

Craig Duncan

Studio Head, Rare Ltd

Thank you and congratulations to everyone, from all of us at Game Dev Heroes. We’ll be looking at our winners in more depth soon, showing you just why they mean so much to people, and why they have truly deserved their awards.

Dan Dudley

Awards coordinator, doing many things behind the scenes.